Addiction, A Choice Or Disease?

Image

As I set here a write this article, my heart dose break for someone special that I have come to know and love. This person that I have an even still do, care for an only wish her a recovery from this cruse that she is under.

This person you see has a disease, it’s called “addition”. She is an addict but I still love her even though she has this disease. Now I call it a disease, but I also know that there is a large group of are society that does not believe that drug addition is  a disease but rather a choice.

For example, I am old enough, not sure if you are when Tommy Lasorda, Manger, at that time of the Los Angles Dodgers said in regards towards one of his players (Darrel Strawberry). “ That Addiction is not a disease it’s a choice, and then cancer and leukemia ARE a disease’s”.

And with all due respect towards Mr. Lasorda, I disagree. When saying that then I now believe it was out of frustration and ignorance towards one of his best players, but yet also biggest disappointments.

You see it has been my experience with my friend that I believe after closely observing her, I have come to the conclusion that addiction is a disease and needs to be address as soon as possible.

Fortunately, it is not as simple most the times as I might of made it out to be. A lot of things factor in here with the individual seeking treatment for this disease. First what kind of background do they come from? Do they come from a good supportive family or is the family not supportive?

Now what I mean as far as supportive, is not the drug addiction itself, but rather accepting it, which I personal feel is a big step for any family member, and to not judge them but yet at the same time not to condone it. Let them know that you believe in them and at the same time you expect them to have faith in themselves.

This is all so important for this is a disease not mainly because of the physical part which is tough going through the detoxing phase, but for the psychological part needs to be address with proper care. Which I have learn from another friend that has defeated this disease, she needs a addictionologist.

This is why I feel so strongly that it is a disease and how they consistently live a life of lies. The addict use these lies to justified were they are at. Lies like half truths, “I can die if I don’t get my drugs”! Yes it is possible they can if not under proper doctors care, when under such care there really is no chance for them to die.

Another lie the addict will use is either my family don’t care or people from their past don’t care and even use them! They seem to do this to gain sympathy from new relationships. And like any new relationship, it is always seems like everything is great until later on the truth comes out an then they are down the road meeting someone new especially if the addict is a beautiful young lady.

They find themselves going from one relationship to another which in itself, toxic! It’s not healthy for neither party, and can leave a wave of destruction. As long as the addict is on this path they are not ready for recovery.

This kind of behavior also puts her in a very vulnerable position with men that have ill intentions! She has and probably will continue with men that will either, pimp her out or use her for their own personal sex toy isolating her from family and friends!

For my end, I right now can only pray for her recovery and safety. I have lost contact with her something I have always explain towards her I have never wanted to do as long as I know she is out there and still under this curse which control her.

I have created this blog to share and hope others will share so we all can gain knowledge from our experiences and were there is knowledge, there is power. Hopefully one day we can defeat the ignorance about this disease, so we can bring awareness about this war on drugs and how it has failed us all!

We are here to share our experience with drug addiction how it affects both the addict and their families along with their friends. Bringing awareness about the war on drugs an how it has failed in many ways. You are welcome to comment even if you might disagree with the post, we here are a free speech zone. We will post it as long it's constructive towards solutions rather then being to harsh and judgmental causing it to be part of the problem. If you want to learn more about Angel Face Foundation you can click here! Thank you :-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Addiction, A Choice Or Disease?
  1. web hosting says:

    It’s hard to find experienced people for this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks|

    Like

Leave a Reply

Today is the present.
August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright

Please be aware.
Angelface-foundation.com, 2013, Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this blog’s material, both images and words, without the author’s consent is prohibited. Copies-provided-credit-is-given may be acceptable on an individual basis please contact author. Linking, ping back and re blogging through WordPress is permitted. Thank you for respecting me and my work. I will respect you and yours.

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Author

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Contact Author here: send mail.

Follow me on Twitter
People That Care!
Map

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

