I’m A Spartan, A Warrior…..

c

As a warrior I do know who my enemies are, and one of my biggest is addiction! My lines have been drawn and they are ever so clear now that I’m sober. My heritage is Greek and my family has been trace back to one of the most elite military that this world has ever known, Spartan’s!

When the Persian army came to invade with much greater odds in their favor, Leonidas refused to back down  the messenger told him, “Our arrows will block out the sun.” To this Leonidas’ general replied, “Then we shall have our battle in the shade!”

We are known for our sacrifices that we are willing to take in any course of battle no matter want the odds are we do not lay our arms down! We have lost many love ones in this battle of addiction at great odds refusing to allow the enemy any ground at all. Just like the battle of Thermopylae the odds in are modern battle is great! 

My choice of weapons is knowledge, and prayer for in this modern battle of addiction we do not deal with flesh and bones but it is spiritual in nature and as a Spartan I do recognize this and this is how I have come to choose my weapons! Just like the great ancient battle of Thermopylae the enemy comes and ask for us to lay our weapons down and too that I say,   (Μολὼν λαβέ). “come and take them.”

Another choice of weapon I choose is love, I will camp out and go without if I must just to see if someone I love needs me to stand by I will. Many of my childhood friends are gone now because of this disease and some of them I have learned that they have tried to reach out but people just did not see it before it was too late!

I myself have had and still do to this day have my own battles with addiction, it will be with me my whole life, I understand this and have adapted to my urges and it can really be a beautiful world being sober. I can share this with you, that as each day does go by, you will come to understand that any bad day sober is better than any good day high! With prayer and discipline you will have joy and victory in your life!

The battle and choice are your’s, will you allow this disease to hold you in bondage and control your life by continuing to lie to you? Or will you be a warrior, or better a Spartan, to battle this addiction and then help others that you also know and love with this dreadful disease. I hope and pray you my friend choose the latter?

Peace towards your recovery and God bless 🙂

We are here to share our experience with drug addiction how it affects both the addict and their families along with their friends. Bringing awareness about the war on drugs an how it has failed in many ways. You are welcome to comment even if you might disagree with the post, we here are a free speech zone. We will post it as long it's constructive towards solutions rather then being to harsh and judgmental causing it to be part of the problem. If you want to learn more about Angel Face Foundation you can click here! Thank you :-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Awareness, Love, Recovery

Leave a Reply

Today is the present.
October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright

Please be aware.
Angelface-foundation.com, 2013, Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this blog’s material, both images and words, without the author’s consent is prohibited. Copies-provided-credit-is-given may be acceptable on an individual basis please contact author. Linking, ping back and re blogging through WordPress is permitted. Thank you for respecting me and my work. I will respect you and yours.

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Author

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Contact Author here: send mail.

Follow me on Twitter
People That Care!
Map

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

