Addiction And The Rock!

Image

The title says it all, I heard a lot about this places I have only personally experience visition not as and inmate but I will share a little what I do know from both mine and what friends have told me while staying out here under the stars at the Pike!

Saint Luice County jail is refered to as, “The Rock” by many people who I hanged out with during my times in Fort Pierce, Florida. I do believe even the Sheriff calls it the same name and for good reasons I am sure.

Stories I have heard from many addict is that they simply throw you in and give you no medical treatment at all, so this is what I have been told that they are rather cruel there and even claims that some have died there?

I am not claiming that these accusations are true but I myself can’t help but to believe that some of them may even be correct due to the status que about addicts in general! This article is really not about this but rather just laying out the enviroment about what some of the people I know and what they have gone through in their journey.

My friend Angel Face was an inmate at The Rock! She share some of the things that were going on there while I visit her. Every Monday seem to be one of my better days because I would be able to walk from the Pike to visit her. To me it was worth the trip because I loved her company that much and also did not have anything else at the time going on.

0

She did ask me to visit her one night in our room crying that last time no one visit her at all, so I promise her that I would and I let nothing get in the way of that, not even being homeless at the time!

I first did not know she was in there until I got a call from her letting me know what has happen. This is the kind of relationship we had with trust. I don’t know what kind we have today as I write this to my readers but would like to think she still does and care?

I will never forget the frist time I visit her there, she was so over joyed and full of happiness and she was kissing the screen all over it and this did made me feel like I was doing something good. I got a call from her lawyer right before I saw her, she was in fear of going to prison and I informed her then, “that dog ain’t going to hunt!” 

No way was she going away for five years and this is what the jail personal was telling her and terrifying her with that! This to me seem harsh and cruel, in no way was this encouraging her but this is their belief and approach to these people who have this disease!

Now when I did walk out there I would sign in, she had me on here list as visitors. I would then after signing in go into what they called the chamber and sit in wait for her to come and talk to me on a screen, she would not even be in front of me live but it still was on a phone a system that was monitored. So privacy was not there but still great to see her face on the screen and here her voice.

889914_t607

Some of our most imamate talks was when she was lock up out at the Rock. This is where are friendship really started grow into the next level.  I knew my boundaries and she knew this and I believe she was relieved that I did not want anything from her but friendship. After all I am old enough to be this young lady’s father, sooner or later this would come into any other relationship as a lover even though she did dig older men. I did not want to put myself in that kind of spot, but even still I did fall for her.

One time when I visit her she told me; “Robert you are riding the fence and no one is happy! ” This was in regards to the fact I was already married and even though we were growing apart she did not want to have anything to do with this. She even said “Robert, I do love Marie and I could never live with myself!” My wife to this day does not know this about my friendship with her and will honor Angel Face  wishes. She does know there is a bond there but don’t know how strong and she might not understand it.

Meanwhile while she was lock up out there her ex-old man was also. he was released and I did informed her of this. She found out that he was shaking up with one of the other girls out at the Pikethat she use to be in business with. She was running around with him and providing things for his habit and living expenses. So this did have an effect on her. I made a big mistake and told her that he was out!

So needless to say I stop getting the phone calls she was calling him instead and told her to stop seeing me, he had control over her with the use of her addiction he master this so he could pimp her out to feed his habit. When I did walk out there on a Monday afternoon she informed me and told me crying that I could still write her but that he was watching and was mad! So I honor that and she got out and was sober and guess what? He was right there when she got out and got her right back on it again, that bastard!!!! I will share with you about what happen in another post for now I want to stay on the Rock!

1c

As I sit here at McDonals here in Whitesboro, Texas. I still go to the Saint Lucie County Jail website to just keep in touch with anyone out at the Pike! Well one of Angel Face, and also mine I might add is now sitting out there now! Here nickname from her is Granny!

Now Granny is good people but she also has this disease called addiction. I pray she gets the help and support that she needs to break her curse that she is under. In fact I am going to write her and I just might start to make me a visitor again out at the Rock! My goal is to try to bring her any kind of encouragement and support that I can. After all, it is her battle and she is the only one that will make the difference.

All my readers if you don’t know how this started and if you are interested on how I met my friend Angel Face, click here!

Peace and Gods Speed towards your journey 🙂

 

We are here to share our experience with drug addiction how it affects both the addict and their families along with their friends. Bringing awareness about the war on drugs an how it has failed in many ways. You are welcome to comment even if you might disagree with the post, we here are a free speech zone. We will post it as long it's constructive towards solutions rather then being to harsh and judgmental causing it to be part of the problem. If you want to learn more about Angel Face Foundation you can click here! Thank you :-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Awareness, Love

Leave a Reply

Today is the present.
March 2014
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Copyright

Please be aware.
Angelface-foundation.com, 2013, Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this blog’s material, both images and words, without the author’s consent is prohibited. Copies-provided-credit-is-given may be acceptable on an individual basis please contact author. Linking, ping back and re blogging through WordPress is permitted. Thank you for respecting me and my work. I will respect you and yours.

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Author

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Contact Author here: send mail.

Follow me on Twitter
People That Care!
Map

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

