An Addicts Journey…..

Joy

It is a sunny day outside and I will be heading to the beach later today and watch the sunset to end it. First I am here at McDonald’s having breakfast and I just had some thoughts come over me and I wanted to share this with others that can relate or maybe even help God willing.

You see I am an addict and have been sober now for over twenty years. I have had my experiences that have been bad and this is part of my personal journey and have been blessed to have the ability to learn and grow from them. This journey we all call life is not always easy and it is how we handle the hard times that matters the most, this is what I have learned.

I have learned to not let it define me and that I need purpose in this journey to fulfill my needs of why I was created. This is spiritual and I needed to focus on this every day to help cleanse out all the worldly crap that this society puts into my head.

I have also learn that it is very important for me to recognize what is the enemy in my journey and that is lies! Now I am not talking about little white lies here, I am talking about addiction, the root to all lies and to be able to see it both spiritually and mentally.

This is one of the biggest joy now being sober for twenty plus years having this ability to recognize it and even being around it and not tempted to fall for its lies! This is my trade-off from the old now to the new high on life! Sometimes I believe that this disease will not allow you to experience this because it is a cycle that one must break, and it is all up to that person to choose when it is their time to do so.

What I can share with you is yes, it is great to have goals and yes it is good to be focus on them. Sometimes with addiction it can fool you into believing that your goal is un attainable and you can never reach it! This is why I say have your goals in recovery but enjoy each step of it and understand that it is a growing process.

Enjoy each step you take and learn from them, after all this did not happen over night! Each event in your journey is for a reason no matter how painful. As long as you take it at your time it will be right for you and only you know what this is. I am sharing my journey and pray that one day someone else can learn from it and also have the same experience of recognizing the joy of seeing your growth passes all the pain is worth the trip.

What I have come to learn in my process is that now after all this time I do have joy in sharing my journey and do see that everyone has the ability to over come this disease called addiction as long as,  the person whats to and they do have a plan and goals, mostly not to pressure it. Pray on it and allow the Creator to help guide you through your journey and you will find the same peace, high and joy in life that I have found. It is there just go for it!

Peace and joy in your journey 🙂

We are here to share our experience with drug addiction how it affects both the addict and their families along with their friends. Bringing awareness about the war on drugs an how it has failed in many ways. You are welcome to comment even if you might disagree with the post, we here are a free speech zone. We will post it as long it's constructive towards solutions rather then being to harsh and judgmental causing it to be part of the problem. If you want to learn more about Angel Face Foundation you can click here! Thank you :-)

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Recovery

Leave a Reply

Today is the present.
May 2014
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright

Please be aware.
Angelface-foundation.com, 2013, Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this blog’s material, both images and words, without the author’s consent is prohibited. Copies-provided-credit-is-given may be acceptable on an individual basis please contact author. Linking, ping back and re blogging through WordPress is permitted. Thank you for respecting me and my work. I will respect you and yours.

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Author

Robert Christopher Mergupis

Contact Author here: send mail.

Follow me on Twitter
People That Care!
Map

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

